Mountain Cake

Introducing my first vintage recipe.  Mountain Cake is a recipe passed down on the Helberg side of my family for 6 generations.  The Helbergs came from Germany, and I can still remember my Great Grandma Hulda speaking or singing in German.  They settled in a town called Fairmont Oklahoma when they crossed the pond a long time ago.  My favorite thing about this cake is that I did not have to adjust for elevation.  It is called Mountain Cake for a reason and since I live in the mountains, I figured this would be the perfect recipe to start with!  Extremely easy to make, my only issue with the recipe is that it did not give a specific temperature or time to bake.  It just stated, “Bake at usual temp and time.”  It is obvious that Mountain Cake was started at a time when cooking happened frequently.  For me, I just began my journey in the love of cooking, so I pondered for a long time what the usual temp and time was.  I looked through the Joy of Cooking and found that most cakes bake at 350 for 30-40 min, so I took my chances and the results ended well.  The other issue I had was no icing recipe was given, so again I went to the Joy of Cooking and used the standard powdered sugar icing recipe.  Worked well and everyone thought it tasted great. 

Here it is:  Mountain Cake

cream until fluffy 1c sugar
                          1/2 c butter
add two eggs and beat well
add 1 cup milk and continue mixing

While the above is mixing sift together  2 cups flour
                                                           2 tsp baking powder
                                                           1/4 tsp salt
Add to mixture and beat well.  Finally add vanilla.  It did not mention how much vanilla, so I added 1 tsp.

The batter is very thick, so spread evenly to the sides of your pan of choice.  I made a layered cake, so I divided the batter equally into two round pans.  Make sure to butter and flour the pans.  Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.

Let the cake cool then layer and ice!  It is very dense and delicious!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

