Very Homemade Dinner

This week my goal is to make as many dishes from the record book as possible.  One reason for doing this is to get back into the swing of things, the other reason is to try and get into a habit of making homemade, delicious and thoughtful meals for my family.  What better way to do this than to cook from my grandmother’s cookbook.  I felt extremely ambitious last night.  The menu:  Chicken Sandwiches, Potato Salad and Rice Pudding.  All of the recipes came from the Record Book, and I must admit I felt pretty proud of myself and quite old fashioned.  In my quest to cook like my great grandmother, I have gotten back to my roots, which includes raising chickens.  All of the eggs required in these recipes came straight from my hens that day!  Again, I am pretty proud of myself.  Most of the recipes are pretty straight forward, but two require some amount of time and effort.  All together, I would rate this meal at about a medium to hard, just for the time.  We also had corn on the cob, which I shucked, so this took up some of the time as well.  I was also so ready to eat by the time dinner was ready that I did not take any pictures!  But here are the wonderful recipes.

Chicken Sandwiches Serve cold or hot
Very simple.  Put as much chicken in a crockpot as you want and cover with chicken broth.  Let cook until done, put a little salt in the broth to add a little extra flavor.  Shred, place on your favorite bread and serve.

Potato Salad
Boil 6-8 medium sized potatoes still in their jackets.  Peel when done.
1cup diced celery
1 cup diced onion
1/2 cup pickles
3 hard boiled eggs
a pinch of paprika
mayonnaise

Add all the ingredients to a bowl.  Add your desired amount of mayo.  I used  fat free.  Just because I am cooking old fashioned does not mean I am going to gain 100 lbs!!
Most time consuming were the potatoes.

Rice Pudding

3 egg yolks, 3/4 cups sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt, 2 cups milk
2 cups cooked rice
3 tablespoons butter melted
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
Beat egg yolks, sugar and salt together and blend with milk.  Stir rice into egg and milk mixture.  Pour into shallow baking dish and dot with butter.  Sprinkle with nutmeg.  Bake at 325 for one hour.

Meringue
3 egg whites
3 tablespoons sugar
Beat egg whites light, add sugar one teaspoonful at a time.  Beat until thick, stands in peaks.  Drop by spoonful over the top of the baked pudding and return to oven for 5 to 10 minutes until meringue is browned.

One thought on “Very Homemade Dinner

Leave a Reply

