Recipe

As I lay in bed, I think of what I am going to bake for the church bazaar that I am running this week.  My husband wondered why I even felt the need to bake anything at all since I was the one in charge of the shindig.  Truth be told, I really have grown fond of baking.
 As I look through the Record Book, I am reminded that I have not posted some of the recipes from last week.  My kids are in bed, my husband is still deployed, and I have a moment all to myself.  So I am going to blog!

The first picture that I posted were the State Fair Dogs

1 1/2 cups of sifted flour
1 tsp baking powder
1tsp salt
1/2 tsp dry mustard
1/4 tsp paprika
1/2 cup corn meal
1/2 cup shortening (I used butter,my son is allergic to shortening)
1/2 to 2/3 cup milk
8 wieners (the recipes says wieners, sounds weird.  My kids laughed for a while when I said this word)
 Heat oven to 450.  Sift dry ingredients into bowl.  Stir in cornmeal.  Cut in shortening. Stir milk in lightly to make a soft dough.  Divide dough into parts.  Roll each into a rectangle.  Divide dough into 8 parts (4 parts for each half)  Place wieners lengthwise on dough.  Moisten edges of dough, roll up and seal edges with fork.  Place on baking sheet and sprinkle with paprika.  Bake 15-20 minutes or until lightly browned.

Sloppy Joe’s

I have made this before along with a great salad.  You can find it here.

Lastly, for tonight anyway,  Potato Pancakes

Very simple recipe.
4 large potatoes peeled and grated
2 egg yolks-beaten
1/2 cup flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
2 egg whites beaten
Mix ingredients in the order given.  Fry on hot griddle or until pancakes are golden brown.

Enjoy coming in from the cold with all of these yummy recipes!

2 thoughts on “Recipe

  1. I remember mom making the crescent roll kind quite often when I was a kid. We didn't complain, but these do look alot better. Can't wait to get home to your cooking!mat

Leave a Reply

