Casserole of Corn

I found another recipe that made my family a little uneasy when they heard the name:  Casserole of Corn.It does invoke fear.  It sounds as if it is mostly corn, but it is not!  I promise. 

I did have to revamp this recipe as well, as the recipe appeared to be lacking in flavor.  So I dressed it up!

The result? A happy family, who actually wanted seconds.

I know, casseroles are very out of style, but I love them.  It has every major food group in it!  Veggie, dairy, meat, carb.  It takes every ounce of me not to make something on the side.  One pan clean up, and EASY to make!!!!!  Why wouldn’t any family want to have casseroles every night?  OK, we wouldn’t either, but every once in a while, they are perfect for dinner.

Without further ado, here is the recipe.

Casserole of Corn ( I do not have a picture)

1/4 pound macaroni noodles
1 pound ground beef
1 small onion chopped
1 can chopped tomatoes with basil, I get the Hunt’s brand
1/2 can of tomato sauce
Salt and Pepper to taste
Chili powder to taste
Garlic powder to taste
It calls for one can of whole kernel corn, but I used the corn we froze from last summer.
1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

1.  Cook noodles according to package.
2.  Brown beef and skim off excess fat.
3.  Start layering.  Half of the cooked noodles on the bottom of greased casserole dish.  Add half of beef mixture over noodles, then sprinkle half of cheese.  Repeat with the other half of ingredients.
4.  Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes until bubbling.
Serves 6-8

Eat Well!
Love,
Suzy

2 thoughts on “Casserole of Corn

Leave a Reply

