Love Your Neighbor as Yourself

Had a revelation yesterday with the help  of my therapist.

I expressed to him how I felt so selfish with my anxiety.  I feel as though my anxiety is so inwardly focused.  I only think of how I feel, how scared I am, and it frustrates me.  When will I start to think of others again and stop dwelling on myself.

He said, “Have you heard the verse, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’?  If you do not like who you are, you will not be able to love your neighbor. ”

Something clicked.  I had always paid attention to the love your neighbor part, never as yourself part.  Whether you are religious or not, you are made to love, and this includes yourself. Who God made you to be.  Honor God by loving who he made you. 

This of course is easier said than done, but in order for me to begin to show others care and love, I have to get to the point where I do not see my own rest as selfish.  I have to take care of myself and then, others will truly feel my love and not see it as me doing a task.  People can feel that you know.  They can sense when you are going through the motions and not loving.  When you reach that point, you have got to rest and love who you are.  Read your Bible, meditate, be by yourself.  When you experience Love, that Love will shine through to others.

Love,

Suzy

2 thoughts on “Love Your Neighbor as Yourself

Leave a Reply

