Closet Turned Reading Room

Today, I decided to undertake a major project.  I have often wanted a place where my kids would be excited about reading, but the rooms I n our house are already used to the max.  However, we have tons of storage!  I mean tons.  We have a shop, a three car garage, a storage shop in the garage, lots and lots of closets and I could go on.  With all this storage, we tend to just shove stuff in places.  No real organization.

Case in point.

This is our closet under the stairs.  It is huge, but you really cannot tell from here.  We made a make shift bar for coats, we have shelves in the back to store luggage and then random stuff thrown in so it will not be viewed laying about the house.

Today, I cleaned everything out and found a home for it.

Then I did this.

I made a library for the kids.  I want to make it clear that I did not spend a dime on this project today.  I had the paint left over from other projects, the shelves we already had in other rooms, the paintings my mother did for each child.

I love it!

I even put their bean bag chairs and blankets in a basket so they can get cozy.

The kids are not pictured here because, I just finished and they are in bed.  It has been a long day, but I did this project all on my own.  Even the chalkboard framed out, by myself.  I am so proud!

And I know my kids will love this space!

Have a great day everyone!

Love,

Suzy

One thought on “Closet Turned Reading Room

  1. What a great idea. I really love the space. Looks like you even painted it? What will you use the chalk board for? you could write the due date for library books there….

Leave a Reply

