Good Deed A Day

First of all, thank you to those who responded to yesterdays post over twitter, Facebook, email or comment.  I even had people at church talk with me.  I had no idea people would actually, or do actually read my blog.  So thank you.  Thank you for reminding me that we are all in our own places in life, and to pray.  Pray for resolution, pray for her, pray for myself.  Thank you also for reminding me that there are others in such great need that need help and prayer.  My issue is on a much smaller scale than world hunger, homelessness, sickness and so on.

National Botanical Gardens (9)

So let’s get started on living and helping others.

I have been thinking a great deal lately of how small things can impact others.  For instance, what can a simple smile and conversation with the cashier do for them and their day?  What about putting carts away for others in the parking lot of the grocery store?  Or simply holding the door open with a smile? How can we change the world by doing the small everyday tasks of our lives with joy?

DSC_0002

I can tell you that even when I am not in the mood to cook dinner, if I include my kids and have a smile on my face, somehow it becomes less of a chore and more of a fun experience.  And not just for me, but for everyone involved.  A smile can change your own mood, and give hope to another’s day.

DSC_0095

So my focus this week?  Well, grocery stores and dinner time.  These are the tasks that  I am most frazzled with.  By the time I get to the check out counter, I am usually grumpy and telling my kids not to grab the plethora of items sitting on the shelves right next to them.  I want to get the task done, and get outta there!

So, good deed is to smile and make the grocery store more enjoyable.  I am not talking about a stalkerish (is that even a word?) smile that make people uncomfortable.  I am just saying to ask the cashier how their doing, to help out, to have the kids help and maybe even by a gift card for the person standing in line behind me. I am showing more joy, hopefully helping others experience more joy, then hopefully helping them to show more joy in their own lives.  A ripple effect if you will.  Outside, my kids and I have decided to help others put their carts away.  Yes, we will look weird, but hey, we already are weird.

DSC_0046

The last part of this is at dinner time.  I have decided to include my kids on the cooking and have some fun.  Yes the way they choose to cut up their food will drive me crazy, but I will choose not to let it bother me.  Yes, the way they choose to clean off the counter will not be the correct way, but hey I will teach them.  Sometimes, I forget that it is equally important for me to smile at my own children as it is to smile at strangers.

So, that is what I am choosing to concentrate on this week, how about you?

Would love to hear your ideas or thoughts! Leave a link to your blog as well if you leave a comment.  Would love to visit!

Have a great day everyone!

Love,

Suzy

DSC_0011

 

P.S. The pictures in this post have nothing at all to do with what I wrote about.  Just thought I would creat some visual interest as well!

2 thoughts on “Good Deed A Day

  1. I like your suggestion. Will try to incorporate that into my daily interactions….a smile, a quick help. And here is a smile for you; I enjoy reading your thoughts! I always get a kernel of wisdom to apply to myself.

Leave a Reply

