Strawberries and a Recipe

I picked so many strawberries in our patch the other day.  I was so excited to see red, ripe strawberries!  Usually the birds get to them before I do.  While I continued to pick, I realized that I had so many, that I could actually find a recipe, so I looked in my great grandmothers cookbook.  To my surprise and disappointment, I could not find any recipe other than strawberry shortcake, which of course would have been great, but I was looking for something different.  I did come across a recipe for a “Rhubarb Upside Down Pudding”, and thought it might be interesting to replace the rhubarb with strawberries.  So I took to cleaning and removing stems, and set out to do my work.

DSC_0009

And I came out with a very delicious recipe that turned out more like a crisp than a pudding, but so very delicious, that I thought I would share it with all of you.  What would make this even more delicious would be pairing this crisp with fresh homemade ice cream.

DSC_0010

“Strawberry Crisp or Pie”

Clean and half your strawberries

Place them in a well-greased 9″ pie plate

Dot with butter

Combine 1 cup sugar, 1 teaspoon cinnamon and 1 tablespoon flour.  Sprinkle mixture over the top of strawberries

Dough:

1 cup flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

three tablespoons butter or shortening (I prefer butter)

1/3 cup milk

Combine ingredients and the spread over strawberry mixture

Cook thirty to forty minutes in a 350 degree oven.  Sprinkle with sugar and serve warm.

DSC_0012

Enjoy your yummy strawberries!

Leave a Reply

