Rest in Peace Horis

We woke up to sadness on Monday.  One of my sons birds passed away sometime in the night. And even though I am not too fond of birds, the sadness of my son was so hard to watch.  Life lessons stink.

DSC_0044

So my son wanted to have a memorial service for Horis.  No we did not bury him in our home, but he wanted to see his tombstone everyday, so we placed it under the bird-cage where the other bird still lives.

DSC_0006

Middle Bit went outside, cut some flowers, and placed them in a jar.  The cool thing about the sunflowers is that two were growing together. back to back.  I do not know if you can tell from this picture, but he thought Horis would like it.

DSC_0001

We said a few word and a prayer.  I took pictures of this moment, but then the tears came flooding and I thought pictures would not be wise.  He cried and cried.  It was so very sad.  I was touched to see what a kind, soft heart my son has.  He loves animals and all living things.  He cares deeply and that is what I treasure about him.

DSC_0004

But as the “service” came to an end, my son asked if he could watch Merlin, and then suddenly he was better.  Oh to rebound from tragedy like a child.  Yes, he thought of Horis throughout the day, but he thought of him with happiness not sadness.

DSC_0052

This is the other quality I treasure in my son, the ability to be happy and carefree.

Have a great day everyone!

Love,

Suzy

2 thoughts on “Rest in Peace Horis

Leave a Reply

