Love Letters

Recently, my husband and I were apart for three weeks with no phone contact.  When he has been away  before, we have had contact on the phone or have been able to Skype.  There has really been very few times when we have not been able to hear each others voices.  Email is nice, but it is so difficult to really express your love, it still feels as though you are not truly alone.

DSC_0004

So, I went old school, and wrote love letters every night.  I never sent them off, because they would not have made it to him in time, so I made a little decorative cover for the letters and kept them in order.  I was able to express to him the love I have for him, the craziness of my days and the adventures of the kids.

DSC_0006

This idea did not occur to me because I am a romantic, but instead because I read a book.  I have read the Anne of Green Gables series, and one of the books were mostly love letters to Gilbert, the love of her life.  These letters reminded me of the letters my grandmother kept from my grandfather during WWII.  He told her everything he could, and how he felt. These letters were so very romantic, and fun for me to read.  They are treasures that I will always, well treasure.  I wanted the same for my kids.  Artifacts that inspire love.  They see our love everyday, but as they get older, it will be nice for them to read and remember our feelings for each other.

I hope this inspires you to do the same.

Have a great day everyone!

Love,

Suzy

 

Leave a Reply

