Messy Weekend

What is life without messes?

What is a home without messes?

Sure I like to keep things clean, but I also like people to truly live in my home.

Not just my family, but also my friends.

This weekend I had a canning party in which some dear friends helped motivate me to can over 30 quarts in one day of spaghetti sauce, my award-winning salsa and tomato sauce.  What was once bare shelves are now showing the fruits of our labor.

DSC_0014

One of the biggest compliments was given to me that day.  One woman, I know really well, and she feels comfortable in my home, the other is new to our town and was the first time I really got to know her.  The latter of the women wanted a glass of water, and immediately my other friend told her where to find the glasses and water.  She turned to me and said, “I am sorry!  This is your home, I just feel so relaxed and at home here!”

I loved to hear this.  I want my home to be a place where people can come and be relaxed, cared for and know that they can feel free to care for others in it.

My boys had a slumber party in which they made their sleeping area on the landing of the upstairs.  I let them get messy and make a mess upstairs.  When it was time for their friends to go home, their friends  were sad and wanted to stay.

DSC_0015DSC_001620130825_074604

The classroom is where all the learning will take place this year, and now it is a mess.  But the excitement from seeing the mess is too much for my kids.  Not a bad thing, but they are so excited to see what they will be learning.

DSC_0017

This is life, messy and comfortable and I would not change a thing!

Hope you had a great weekend!

Love

Suzy

One thought on “Messy Weekend

  1. Love hearing about messes; something I always struggle with allowing to happen. But I like the comfort of it all. So happy to see my little blue rocking chair in the classroom; such memories of my Dad who got it for me and recovered it years later when the original red wore out.

Leave a Reply

