Sewing and Forts

DSC_0142 DSC_0143 DSC_0144 DSC_0145

Growing up, I was slightly interested in sewing.  However, I did not want to sit still long enough to learn.  So, as I have “matured” I have really developed an appreciation for the art.  I do not live near my mother, who is a great sewer, to learn from her, so I rely heavily on You Tube to show me how.  I am a very visual learner.  If someone verbally explains it to me, I cannot focus.  So You Tube is perfect for people like me.

Since I have started sewing, two of my kids have developed an interest, and I am so excited about it.  To help, I found a bunch of old cross stitch patterns and different things that cost little or no money.  I must tell you, that they have loved it, and sew together on the landing so peacefully.  Of course, they have to make a fort, and have to make it comfy up on the landing.  So a project that is supposed to be clean, is rather messy.  But hey, if they are happy, I am happy.  As long as that mess gets cleaned up.

I have had so much fun encouraging my children in this hobby.  My goal is encourage their interests so they will not give up or forget. At least this is a hobby that will be useful as they get older!

Have a great day everyone!

Leave a Reply

