Take it a Day at a Time

DSC_0004

Yesterday was a bad day.  No really, a bad day.  The kind of day that makes you wonder if your new year is doomed.  I am not being dramatic.  I even had to go to the police station!  Thankfully, everything ended on a good note, we were not in any danger, and we could actually chuckle about it.  Very small chuckles, but chuckles.  If you want me to go into detail, too bad, still feeling like an idiot.

I woke up this morning with a sense of anxiety.  If you have not been here long, I have struggled with anxiety for a few years.  I have not experienced this type of anxiety for a while.  Feeling like this day was ruined from the start. Wondering what the year holds.  Too many questions.  So I began my quiet time.  I have just taken the challenge of reading through the Bible in a year,  and I wanted my mind off of myself.  During this time I realized that I do not have to wonder, be embarrassed, condemn myself for every stupid mistake.  I just have to take it day by day. Will I automatically stop doing all those things?  Absolutely not, but if I choose to wake up and read, look outside and admire the gift that is given, focus on others and not myself, slowly my negative views will change.  No this is not my “New Year’s Resolution”.  It is something that I must take day by day.  Wake up and choose to see joy.

Notice how I am using the word choose?  Because that is what joy is.  It is a choice.  For me I can wallow in my own anxiety or I can choose to focus my mind on joy, on others.  Not an easy task for anxiety sufferers, but a task none the less.  No task worth doing is ever easy, but it must be done.

I choose this day to be a good day, even with the struggles.

Have a great day everyone!

Love,

Suzy

2 thoughts on “Take it a Day at a Time

  1. That is exactly the attitude to have. So hard, but worth it. I have struggled with anxiety forever – it is a constant companion. But like any disability or “challenge” you find ways to cope. Sometimes it works better than other times, but you learn – choose – to live your life your own way.

    1. You have overcome so much in your life, and I look to you as a role model in many ways. It is a choice everyday, some days are definitely easier than others.
      Thanks so much for sharing.
      Suzy

Leave a Reply

