Wednesday Cooking Update

One of my favorite things to do is cook.  So I have decided to dedicate Wednesdays to a weekly cooking update in which I will post pictures of some of my meals and one recipe from the week.  Feel free to post a link in the comments section so I can check out what you are cooking up!  Or you can post a fun recipe in the comments!

Frost 010 Frost 011

Start with Christmas.  I made these little cake balls that were totally allergy friendly for my family.  I made an eggless, dairy free, wheat free chocolate cake and made a glaze to match.  Big hit with the kiddos.

Frost 091 Frost 092 Frost 093 Frost 094 Frost 095 Frost 096

Then for New Year’s, we were at my parents house and my mother made the comment that she has so many Christmas platters that she never uses.  We made it a goal to use every single plate and platter and make a beautiful snack spread.  I had so much fun preparing this with my mother!

Frost 098 Frost 100

Because the weather is perfect for soup, I made my famous tortellini soup.  I forgot to take a picture of the finished product, but here is an idea.

Frost 101 Frost 102

Finally, we love rice pudding, and let me tell you that it is the perfect treat for snowy days.  So I thought this would be the best recipe to share.

Homemade Rice Pudding

3 egg yolks

3/4 cups sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

2 cups milk

2 cups cooked rice

3 tablespoons melted butter

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg or cinnamon

Beat egg yolks, sugar and salt together then blend with the milk.

Stir cooked rice into the mixture and pour into a shallow baking dish, then dot with butter.

Sprinkle with nutmeg.

Bake at 325 for one hour.

You can also make a meringue to go on top which is absolutely delicious.

Meringue

3 egg whites

3 tablespoons sugar

Beat egg whites until light, add sugar one spoonful at a time, beat until thick and stands in peaks.

Drop by the spoonful over the top of the baked pudding and return to oven for 5 to 10 minutes until browned.

 

Have fun cooking everyone, and I look forward to doing this weekly and seeing your delicious meals as well!

Love,

Suzy

 

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Cooking Update

  1. What a wonderful idea for the Christmas platters. I, too, have many and don’t get to use them every year. Come and let’s do that at my house next year!! The food pictures are making me hungry!

Leave a Reply

