Mama Said There’d be Days Like This

DSC_0174

I am tired.  I know we all reach that point of exhaustion, and then need a little breather, but it seems as though I need more than one this week.  My kids just seem a little needier this week than normal, but that is the age we are in.  Now I understand why my friends with older kids were so excited to have the oldest get their drivers’ license.  It will be so nice not to have to drive them around everywhere they need to go!  Three kids with three different schedules, and then places of my own to go, etc, etc….  I remember thinking when my kids were little how it was the toughest age.  I felt like a mama baboon always with a kid on my hip, never getting a break!  But as my husbands uncle once said, “Bigger kids, bigger problems.”  The exhaustion never goes away, it just grows with your child.  I must say though, that I love the age groups they are at right now.  We can joke, they can communicate (for the most part), and carry their own stuff.  Funny how I can now look back on their younger days with a since of longing for them.  How they wanted to cuddle, would fall asleep in my arms, want to be with mommy.  I still have those moments, just a little fewer, but more appreciated.

These new phases of life.  Fun and sad all in the same moments.

I must never forget to embrace them all.

Love,

Suzy

6 thoughts on “Mama Said There’d be Days Like This

    1. I love what you said, part of loving them is also knowing how to love yourself. So true and so often forgotten. Thank you so much for the reminder.

  1. Hi Suzy! I am knew to this space of yours, but oh my, how this all sounds familiar! I am in that baboon phase and it is hard. But on my eldest’s fifth birthday I was looking back at pictures and it suddenly hit me that I will never go back there. I will never hold him as a baby again! Funny, that we don’t often think about that more. Glad you are finding join in this phase (I will love it when mine can carry their own stuff ;)) but I echo Kim and Yanic, remember to love yourself!

    1. I am so glad you are here! Thank you for your comment. It is difficult to think on how fast time goes, but I find I miss so much when I focus on the past and not on the present. The baboon phase is hard, but you will never forget the hugs. Thank you so much for popping in!

Leave a Reply

