Walking

20150309_095117_resized20150309_094643_resized20150309_095053_resizedI have been walking in the mornings lately.  This is new for me.  I have always been an evening walker, and it usually ends up on the treadmill.  The treadmill was a place I could go out to at the end of the day, turn on a movie and just walk to forget about all the many things that still needed to be done.  But lately the thought of being in a room, with a movie, does not appeal to me.  The outdoors have been calling to me, and more specifically the mornings.  The chill, which usually makes me wince and stay inside, has been welcome on my face.  The sun, the fresh air has been a welcome gift.  I have found that trying to get away from the day has not helped me, but somehow with a walk in nature thinking of the day ahead and all that is part of it prepares and refreshes me like now movie could do.

So, I take my dogs out with me, and they have become happier, well all except my dog named Happy.  She likes the comfort of her backyard.  But Ruffo, he is my walking buddy. Every morning he greets me at the garage door, knowing I will have the leash and he will get to go sniff everything and explore the world.

When we return, I am ready for the kids to start asking me questions, I am ready to do all the mundane tasks the day has in store.  Because these tasks do not seem as mundane as they did before, but purposeful.  The kids questions don’t seem as overwhelming, but welcoming.  The sun and chill of the air have a crazy effect on me, that I never expected, and it is good.

I hope you all are getting to enjoy the weather wherever you are!

Love,

Suzy

One thought on “Walking

  1. It is amazing what Mother Nature, and little heart pumping walk can do for our perspective 🙂 So happy you are enjoying your morning walks. I am a runner, and much prefer running in the early morning hours than in the afternoon or evening.

Leave a Reply

