I May Have Said a Few Bad Words Last Week

20150402_115115

Forgive me for the photo that has absolutely nothing to do with this post.  I just thought it was funny! , and when looking for a picture appropriate for this post, I could not find one.  So I thought I would put one up that was just plain funny!  We were trying to make her pose with her mouth open as boats came into the bay.  Why?  Because we could, and because we thought it would be funny to make it look as though she was eating the boats.  I don’t know.

Ever have one of those weeks?  Well, last week was not awful, but it could not just go smoothly.  You know the kind of days or weeks, where you cannot pin point what exactly is making you so agitated, but something is.  There is a bunch of little things adding up to a few cuss words that probably should not make you feel better, but somehow always do?  Why do cuss words do that?  I am not an avid user of bad language, but dammit, if sometimes they aren’t just plain appropriate.

Last week started off at the vet’s office.  Two days in a row.  One day was for my small older dog, and the next was for the two big dogs.  I did not want to take all three at once because it is pure insanity.  Unfortunately we received some sad news about our 15 year old Chihuahua.  He is in kidney failure, mixed with a bunch of other things, and we will have to make the decision soon to put him down.  He has been a part of our everyday for 15 years, and it is a difficult decision to make, but we do not want the sweet dog to suffer, so we have to make the decision soon.  It seems as though he is rallying and is up and about these past few days which makes me happy, but I know it is coming.  Needless to say, we are letting him live it up, giving him all the cheese he wants, he lays on a heating pad to keep him warm and when he gets up, we pet him constantly.  He is treated like royalty.

The next day at the vet was an adventure.  Two big dogs, one fifty pounds and the other 90. Happy, the smaller of the two was the most neurotic animal, having to be picked up to have anything done.  Ruffo, is terrified of the scale at the vets.  It takes three of us to push and pull him all the way to the scale that is part of the floor.  He even curled himself around a door frame to avoid being placed on it.  We had to peel him from the frame, drag him to the scale where he stood with all fours barely on the scale.  We then had to walk all the way to the other side of the office just to put him in a room, because he would not go to the room close to the scale.  Once in the room, he proceeded to lift his leg and pee all over the side of the counter as if to payback for the scale torture he had to endure.  We made it out safely.

On Tuesday, winter finally decided to happen.  We had wind gusts up to 55 mph, and a steady wind at 30 mph all day long.  The day started in the 70’s and at 2pm began to snow and it snowed for two days.  But the damage from the wind!  Oh my goodness, our garden fence blew down, my green house fell apart and our basketball hoop had blown across our driveway and fell over into the grass.  Which was actually nice because I left it there for a few days.  It was out of the way!

Finally, my little girl broke my computer, which explains my silence this past week.  Thankfully it was not a huge or expensive fix, but when all of a your children’s education is done on computers, it tends to through a wrench in the plans.  She has actually been having a very difficult time lately.  If you are not familiar with our adoption story, it has not been the easiest.  It seems as though we are experiencing a little bit of a relapse with PTSD, stealing, anger etc.  Keep her in your thought and prayers.

Well, we made it through the week, which as you can see was not awful, just crazy.  It is over, and a new one is beginning.  I will admit, I am happy to begin again.

Hope you are all having a happy Monday!

Love,

Suzy

4 thoughts on “I May Have Said a Few Bad Words Last Week

  1. That does seem like a week that would leave you feeling a bit off. I’m so sorry about your sweet dog. We had to make the same hard decisions last fall for our 16 year old cat. Same thing, renal failure. They are such a huge part of our lives. I still think about him everyday. I hope your little one finds some peace soon. I will surely keep all of you in my thoughts and prayers.

    Wishing you a much easier week. xox

    1. Thank you. I hope she finds peace as well. Tortured soul sometimes, but it is happening much less over the past year. For some reason this past month has been bad.
      Funny how animals are so much a part of the family. Hard decision, but one that must be made nonetheless.
      P.S. Glad we share the same love of So I Married an Axe Murderer. Such a great movie!

  2. Sorry about your week, and your dog. It is never easy saying goodbye to a furry friend 🙂 Will keep you in my thoughts and prayers as you move through the difficulty of saying goodbye.

    And thoughts and prayers to your daughter too. xo

    1. Thank you so much. It is a difficult thing to say goodbye. Makes me sad, but I also know how he has been such a fun dog. Oh, it will be hard. Thank you for your thoughts and prayers.

Leave a Reply

