Garden Update

DSC_0011DSC_0012DSC_0013

Two blog posts in one day!  You better believe it!  I feel as though I have a world of catching up to do with you all, and a lot of reading other blogs just to see what is happening!  My goal a week ago was to try and write everyday, and I even made a calendar of some of the things I would like to write about, so I have some catching up to do, and more than anything…..I miss you all so much.  I have been quite lonely with my little injury, and to be quite honest, cannot sit for long periods of time.  So I am doing my writing while standing!

Our garden is finally in!  I was not able to do any of the planting, but I did all the shopping and planning for my husband.  He sat me down, put a beer in my hand and had me watch and boss him around when the planting was happening.  I know I should be loving that, but I do like to get my hands dirty, and I do like to work.

We have four varieties of heirloom tomatoes, four roma tomatoes, potatoes, onions, cabbage, melons, carrots, peas, lettuce, corn, different herbs, radishes and a nice sunflower garden starting to sprout.

We tried to be really thoughtful as to how much work we wanted to put into it this year.  Every year, we get so excited to plant, and then come September, we are scrambling to get all of it preserved for the winter.  So, we paced ourselves on the tomatoes, because quite frankly, we are trying to avoid waste.

We are still in the honeymoon phase of the garden, you know, when it is all new and exciting.  We are hopeful, and not tired of it yet, but I will let you know how it goes.  I guarantee that it will not be shiny, new and exciting forever!

Looking forward to seeing where you guys are at with your gardens!

Love,

Suzy

2 thoughts on “Garden Update

    1. Honeymoon phase is so accurate! We are so excited at the beginning, but towards the end, we get so tired and it becomes so much work! Thanks for the well wishes!

Leave a Reply

