Sunday Storytelling-A Journey

DSC_0001

I have been on a journey.  Not the kind you physically go on, but the kind you mentally do.  A journey to find what is most important, and honestly, I am certain I will be on this journey for the rest of my life.

This journey began the moment I was born, but really in the past 5 years, I have thought more about this journey than I ever had.  It did begin with my daughter.  Getting her made me realize right away that what I thought was important, certainly was not as important as my husband and children.  Since then, the journey has led me to quit my job, to start a blog, start a business, to make our house a home.

This journey is continuing and the most amazing discovery is what I thought defined who I am does not.  I thought my career defined me, or being a mom or any of the things listed above.  I thought the physical things defined me, but they do not.  Instead these things are a product of how I have changed, but do not define me personally.

Who am I?  I am someone who cared deeply.  I get my feelings hurt intensely.  I love to have fun.  I love to think, and do not like someone telling me what I should think.  I like to find things out on my own.  I absolutely love to get my hands dirty, and work hard.  I will do anything for you, and I like to go overboard.  I go overboard not because I feel as though I have to, but because I absolutely care in the deepest way possible.  I am strong.  I am weak.  Sometimes both at the same time.  I am a woman who has the privilege of choices and opportunities.  I feel left out easily.

I am not defined by a career or as a parent.  I am not defined by the women who have come before me, although I may have characteristics of them.  I am not defined by the home I live in, or how many children I have or how I choose to homeschool.  I am not defined by my race or ethnicity.

I am unique, yet the same as everyone else.

I have no idea where this journey is taking me, and it is so confusing yet comforting all at once.  I am excited to find out more about this person I am becoming, this person that has been waiting to emerge for so long.  I am excited to meet you all as well, and see where you are on your journeys.

My journey is different from yours, and that is the beauty of this life.  We are unique, yet we live together.

What journey are you on?

Here’s to the journey!

Love,

Suzy

4 thoughts on “Sunday Storytelling-A Journey

  1. It really is about the journey, isn’t it? Finding our own way, discovering who we really, and what is most important to us. Enjoy the ride 🙂

  2. I’ve certainly begun to experience this transition as well–that at some point in our lives we cease to be defined by something external, and we begin to understand our identity from within. And yes, I completely agree with you, that it is a journey. There really is nothing other than that! We cannot base our worth on what we accomplish or not, at least I believe so, because we are all of value, no matter what we are able to do or not do in life. I think what matters most is that we keep striving, everyday, no matter what!

    1. Thank you so much for sharing. I totally agree with you that our worth is not based on our accomplishments. I am finding that with all who have made a difference, it is not what they did as much as why they did it. They kept striving for what was right, and that to me is pretty heroic.

Leave a Reply

