Decorating with Vintage-Hutch

I have been busy taking down Christmas decorations and putting up cozy winter ones.  When it comes to highlighting my home, I love doing this through the hutch that is located in living room/dining room of my home.  I change the décor of this hutch with the seasons using mostly vintage items that have been passed on to me from relatives.

I love using items that have history, but especially history within my own family.  When I bring them out, I remember the ones I love, and where it sat in their home or how they used it.  This is the point with decorating with vintage,  you are surrounded with memories of loved ones.  This is also the reason to decorate in any style.  You want to tell people a story of who you are, and what you enjoy.

This hutch is a focal point in my home.  It set against the largest wall in my home.  It is tall, and basically what every one sees when they walk in, or sit.

Here is a picture of the hutch with all the Christmas décor on it.

DSC_0001 (2)

Here it is today after taking the Christmas down and putting the winter up.

DSC_0003 (2)

Looks a little less crowded, but also still has some elements of Christmas.  I am a Christmas fan, so it is difficult for me to do away with the decorations so quickly!

Here are so close ups of what I put on the hutch.

DSC_0005 (1)

These crystal trees sat in my grandmother hutch for as long as I could remember.  Her chair that she always sat in, was placed in front of her hutch and when we would talk, those were always behind her.  When I see them, I think of sitting in her home, talking to her about the world and the problems in it.

DSC_0006 (1)

The elves and the green glasses, were hers as well, and again, sat in the same hutch for years.

DSC_0009

Now the china, as well as this beautiful pitcher were my other grandmothers.  I spent a great deal of time at her house, and so these items bring me closer to her in so many ways.  Closer to her laugh and smile.

DSC_0004 (2)

This hutch makes me happy.  It brings me warmth in so many different ways, and I am grateful for the memories I gain place on it season to season.

What are some ways you decorate with vintage?

Leave a Reply

