Christmas and New Year Traditions

I remember the first year my husband and I celebrated Christmas with our first born.  It was really nothing big, but the first thing I did was make a huge breakfast.  I tried to combine tradition we both shared:  egg casserole for my husband and cinnamon rolls for my family.  My Grandmother was known for her cinnamon rolls.  Every year starting after Thanksgiving, she would get to work making her famous rolls.  People would pay her to make some for their families!  The egg casserole my husband was used to had such a rich flavorful, fifties feel.  Easy, yet so very delicious.  I thought a great deal about that first “family” Christmas this year, as we celebrated our 16th year together.  Our baby is now almost 15, and we have added two kids since then.  I was wondering what traditions I have created for my own family, when my oldest said how excited he was for Christmas Eve.  “Mom!  When are you making the cinnamon rolls and egg casserole!  Also, the cookies should be made by now so we can decorate them between church services and watch National Lampoons Christmas Vacation before midnight mass!”  I was excited to know that we as a family have created traditions without even realizing it!  And isn’t that the point of traditions?  Things you do without even realizing it!  I was worried that I was not trying hard enough to create fond memories for my kids, yet it was already happening without even realizing it.  No effort on my part, just warm loving memories that my kids are now appreciating.  My grandmother and husbands mom probably did not even realize that cinnamon rolls and egg casserole were tradition worthy, but they were so meaningful to us.  Truly it is the little things that make the most difference to us all.  No stress, just natural family oriented events that are filled with love.

From my family to yours, we wish you a very Merry Christmas Season and the most Happy and Healthy 2017 filled with fun memories and traditions created from love!

 

Leave a Reply

